# APPE ENTRE

# CONTEMPORARY INDIA

# Major achievements of Indian Prime Ministers

## Nehru (1947-1964)

- ✓ Architect of Modern India
- ✓ Social Revolutionary
- ✓ Rural Reformer
- ✓ Builder of Infrastructure
- ✓ Integration of Princely States
- ✓ Constitution of India
- ✓ Linguistic Re-organisation of states
- ✓ General Elections 52, 57, 62
- ✓ State planning
- ✓ Democratic Socialism
- ✓ Planning commission
- ✓ NDC
- ✓ Five Year Plans, 51-56, 56-61, 61-66
- ✓ Welfare State
- ✓ First Backward Classes Commission
- $\checkmark$  Reservation of SCs and STs
- ✓ Hindu Code Bill
- ✓ Abolition to Untouchability
- ✓ University Commission
- ✓ Secondary Education
- ✓ IITs
- ✓ Bharat Electronics Ltd
- ✓ National Physical Lab

- ✓ Nation Committee on Space Research
- ✓ Atomic Research and Development
- ✓ Science and Tech. Infrastructure
- ✓ Foreign Policy Pancha Sheel
- ✓ Non-Alignment
- ✓ Indo-Pak War, 1948
- ✓ Bandung Conference 55
- ✓ India- China War 62

## Lal Bahadur Shastri (1964-1966)

- ✓ Man of Peace
- ✓ Coined the Slogan: Jai Jawan Jai Kisan
- ✓ Prime Minister's Office (PMO)
- ✓ Agri. Commission
- ✓ Food Grains Trading Corporation
- ✓ National Dairy Development Board

NTR

- ✓ National Language Policy
- ✓ Anti-Hindu Agitation 65
- ✓ Kothari Education Commission 64-66
- ✓ Indian Council for Historical Research
- ✓ Indo-Pak War 65
- ✓ Tashkent Declaration 66

# Indira Gandhi (1966-77) and (1980-84)

- ✓ First Woman Prime Minister of India
- ✓ Iron Lady of India
- ✓ Kitchen Cabinet
- ✓ Devaluation of Rupee, 66
- ✓ Lokpal Bill, 68
- ✓ 1968 New Education Policy
- ✓ Nationalisation of Banks, 69
- ✓ Abolition of Privy Purses, 70
- ✓ Garibi Hatao, 71

- ✓ Green Revolution
- ✓ Annual Plans, 66-69
- ✓ Fourth Plan, 69-74
- ✓ Fifth Plan 74-79
- ✓ 20 point programme
- ✓ 5-point programme
- ✓ Doordarshan, 1969
- ✓ ISRO, 1969
- ✓ Space Research Organisation 1972
- ✓ National Education Resource Centre, 1972
- ✓ Pokhran Nuclear Test, 1974
- ✓ Aryabhata Satellite, 1975
- ✓ Satellite TV Export 1975-76
- ✓ SITE, 1975
- ✓ Indo-Pak War, 1971
- ✓ Birth of Bangladesh
- ✓ Simla Agreement 72
- ✓ Kachativu Issue 1974
- ✓ 1966 the year of Turmoil
- ✓ 1971 73 Radical years
- ✓ 1975 77 Emergency Regime
- ✓ 1974- The Year of Unrest and Agitations

ENTR

- ✓ Circumstances Leading to Emergency
- ✓ Imposition of Emergency
- ✓ JP's of Total Revolution
- ✓ Punjab Crisis
- ✓ Operation Blue Star
- ✓ Priority of Environment
- ✓ Saved Silent Valley
- ✓ Reason behind Environment Day
- ✓ Rohini SLV-3, 1980
- ✓ APPLE, 1981
- ✓ Bhaskara, 1981
- $\checkmark$  INSAT, 1A, 1B

## Morarji Desai Janata Rule (1977-1979)

- ✓ First Non Congress Government
- ✓ Rolling Plan
- ✓ Demonitisation
- ✓ Asoka Mehta Committee 1977
- ✓ Bhaskara I Satellite 1979
- ✓ Mandal Commission

# Rajiv Gandhi (1984-1989)

- ✓ Anti-Sikh Riots 1984
- ✓ Bhopal Gas Tragedy 1984
- ✓ Year of Hope 1985
- ✓ Longowal, Assam Accords 1985
- ✓ Laldenga Accord 1986
- ✓ Anti-Defective Act, 1985
- ✓ Anti-Defamation Bill 1988
- ✓ Panchayat Raj Bill 1989 (64th Amendment)

JTR

- ✓ New Economic Policy
- ✓ Technology Missions
- ✓ Computerisation
- ✓ Jawahar Rozgar Yojana, 1989
- ✓ Seventh Plan, 1985-90
- ✓ Shah-Banu Case, 1985-86
- ✓ Muslim Women's Bill, 1986
- ✓ Babri Masjid Issue
- ✓ Perspective Plan for Women, 1989
- ✓ New Education Policy
- ✓ National Literacy Mission, 85
- ✓ Indian Remote Sensing, 88
- ✓ STOS-2, 88
- ✓ INSAT-1C, 88
- ✓ R G Gorbachev Declaration 1986

- ✓ Harare NAM Summit, 1988
- ✓ Action Plan for Nuclear Free World, 1988
- ✓ Belgrade Summit, 1989
- ✓ India-China Relation.
- ✓ IPKF Sri Lanka

# V.P. Singh (1989-1990)

- ✓ Implementation Mandal Report
- ✓ Anti-Mandal Agitation
- ✓ Ayodhya Issue
- ✓ INSAT-1D
- ✓ Gulf Crisis-Evacuation of Indians from Quwait

GENTRE

- ✓ Moscow Delcaration
- ✓ Refueling facility to American War Planes.

# P.V. Narasimha Rao (1991-1996)

- ✓ New Economic Policy
- ✓ Liberalisation
- ✓ Eighth Plan 92-97
- ✓ Reservation Policy
- ✓ Panchayat Raj, 73, 74th Amendment
- ✓ IRS-1B, 91
- ✓ SROSS, 92
- ✓ INSAT, 2A, 2B, 2C
- ✓ ASLV
- ✓ Look East Policy
- ✓ NAM Summit
- ✓ NPT, SAARC, SAPTA
- ✓ ASEAN
- ✓ UNO

## A.B. Vajpayee (1996, 1998-1999, 1999-2004)

- ✓ Pokhran Test II, 1998
- ✓ Brahmos 2011
- ✓ INSAT
- ✓ GSAT-1
- ✓ PSLV-3
- ✓ Election of President A.P.J. Abdul Kalam

GENTR

- ✓ Disinvestment
- ✓ Information Technology
- ✓ Infrastructure: Golden Quadrilateral
- ✓ Sarva Siksha Abhiyan
- ✓ Bus Diplomacy
- ✓ Kargil War, 1999
- ✓ SAARC
- ✓ ASEAN
- ✓ European Union
- ✓ NRI Day

## Deva Gowda (1996-1997)

- ✓ Common Minimum Programme
- ✓ Think Tank
- ✓ Election President K.R. Narayanan
- ✓ Cauvery Water Dispute
- ✓ Ninth Plan 97-2002
- ✓ Re-organization of Planning Commission
- ✓ Disinvestment Commission
- ✓ Women's Reservation Bill
- ✓ SROSS-1, 97
- ✓ INSAT-2D, 97
- ✓ IRS-1D, 97
- ✓ Gujral Doctrine
- ✓ Disarmament

#### ✓ SAARC Summit, Male, 97 Manmohan Singh (2004 – 2014)

- ✓ Outcome Budget 04-05
- ✓ National Employment Guarantee Programme
- ✓ Right to Information Act
- ✓ National Food Policy
- ✓ Disinvestment
- $\checkmark$  SEZs
- ✓ Reservation for OBCs
- ✓ Sachar Report
- $\checkmark$  Rural Health Mission
- ✓ Urban Renewal Mission
- ✓ Compulsory Registration of Marriage

ENTRE

- $\checkmark$  Tribals Bill
- ✓ INSAT-43
- ✓ GSLV
- ✓ Edu Sat
- ✓ PSLV-C7
- ✓ Mission to Moon (Chandrayaan 1)
- ✓ Direct-to-Home TV
- ✓ NAM summit
- ✓ SAARC
- ✓ Shangai Cooperative Organisation
- ✓ European Union

# Narendra Modi (2014-2019)

## Achievements of Modi Government

- ✓ NITI Aayog
- 🗸 Maan Ki Baat
- ✓ Act East Policy