

Complete List of Newspapers and Journals during British India

Name of the Paper/Journal	Year and Place from which Published	Name of the Founder/Editor
Bengal Gazette	1780, Calcutta	James Augustus Hickey
Sambad Kaumudi (weekly in Bengali)		Raja Ram Mohan Roy
Mirat-ul Akbar (First journal in Persian)	1822, Calcutta	Raja Ram Mohan Roy
Banga-Duta (A weekly in four languages- English, Bengali, Persian, Hindi)	1822, Calcutta	Raja Ram Mohan Roy and Dwarkanath Tagore
Bombay Times (from 1861 onwards, The Times of India)		Robert Knight and Thomas Bennett
Rast Goftar (A Gujarati fortnightly)	1851	Dadabhai Naoroji
Hindu Patriot	1853, Calcutta	Girishchandra Ghosh
Somprakasha	1858, Calcutta	Dwarkanath Vidyabhushan
Indian Mirror	1862, Calcutta	Devendranath Tagore and NN Sen

Bengalee (this and Amrita Bazar Patrika- the first vernacular papers)	1862 Calcutta	Girishchandra Ghosh (taken over by SN Baneijea in 1879)
National Paper	1865, Calcutta	Devendra Nath Tagore
Amrita Bazar Patrika (Bengali in the beginning and later on English Daily)	1868, Jessore District	Sisirkumar Ghosh and Motilal Ghosh
Bangadarshana	1873, Calcutta	BankimChandra Chatterjee
The Statesman	1875, Calcutta	Robert Knight
The Hindu	1878, Madras	GS Aiyar, Viraraghavchari and Subba Rao Pandit
The Tribune	1881, Lahore	Dayal Singh Majeetia
Sudharak		Gopal Ganesh Agarkar
Hindustani and Advocate		GP Verma
Kesari (Marathi daily) and Maharatta (English Weekly)	1881, Bombay	Tilak, Chiplunkar, Agarkar
Swadeshamitran	Madras	GS Aiyar
Paridasak (Weekly)		Bipin Chandra Pal
Yugantar	1906, Bengal	Barindra Kumar Ghosh and Bhupendranath Dutta
Sandhya	1906, Bengal	Brhamanabandab Upadhay
Indian Sociologist	London	Syamji Krishna Verma
Bande Matram	Parish	Madam Bhikaji Cama
Free Hindustan	Vancouver	Taraknath Das

Ghadr	San Francisco	Ghadar Party
Talwar	Berlin	Virendrnath Chattopadhay
Bombay Chronical (a daily)	1913, Bombay	Pherozshahs Mehta, BG Horniman
The Hindustan Times	1920, Delhi	KM Pannikkar as a part of Akali Dal Movement
Leader (in English)		Madan Mohan Malviya
Bahishkrit Bharat	1927	BR Ambedkar
Kudi Arasu (Tamil)	1910	E.V. Ramaswamy Naicker (Periyar), SS MIrajkar, KN Joglekar
Bandi Jivan	Bengal	Sachindranath Sanyal
National Herald	1938, Delhi	Jawaharlal Nehru
Tagzin-ul-Akhlaq (journal)	1871	Sir Syed Ahmed Khan
Kesari (Marathi Daily Newspaper)	1881	Bal Gangadhar Tilak
Comrade (Weekly English Newspaper)	1911	Maulana Mohammad Ali
Al- Balagh and Al- Hilal (Both urdu weekly newspaper)		Abul Kalam Azad
Pratap (Hindi Newspaper)	1913	Ganesh Shankar Vidyarthi
Independent (Newspaper)	1919	Motilal Nehru
Moon Nayak (Marathi Weekly)	1920	BR Ambedkar
Young India (Weekly Journal)	1919	M K Gandhi

Nav Jeevan (Weekly Newspaper)		M K Gandhi
Harijan (Weekly Journal)		M K Gandhi
Hindustan Dainik	1936	Madan Mohan Malviya

